What writing software do you prefer?

AllenWoody

Really Experienced
Hello all,

I've been writing for several years now using Google Docs. It has some features that I like, namely the ability to share drafts with my friend/editor to get her comments and feedback, it's free, and I can write from more than one machine (although I rarely do). Oh, and I know my work is safe from a catastrophic machine failure (yes, I do back up my laptop).

What I'm not so in love with is the spelling/grammar checker. It catches a few basic things but perplexingly does not call out errors that seem obvious. There's also no support for any advanced features such as outlining, character sheets, etc. It's wonderful for a free tool, but I'm curious what others are using.

I certainly don't mind paying for the right software. I use a Mac, if that matters.

Thanks... AW

I use LibreOffice with the Language Tool extension. It's an office suite, and Writer is a fairly full-service word processor, but it doesn't provide specialized features like character sheets. At least some of those features might be available through extensions. I haven't checked.

LibreOffice is available for Mac.

I use Pages, as it's the included word processing software on my iPad. It suffices for my needs, although Literotica won't accept it if you try and upload it as a file. I would therefore prefer to use Microsoft Word, but that is no longer free on the latest iPads.

I used to use iA Writer a lot, when I had an iPad as well as a Mac, but these days I've switched to Google Docs. Definitely worth checking out iA Writer, though, as a general writing tool. I can't promise the grammar checker is any better than Google Docs though.

OpenOffice Writer on my desktop rig, Word mobile to re-read my crimes against literature in bed the next morning.

I use a cut down and customized version of word 2000. My boss gave me a copy of office 2k and this and excel are the only parts of it i use.