what's the weirdest thing you've ever eaten?

We ate cow tongue sandwiches when I was a kid. My mom bought it at the deli. I liked it, but the thought of eating it now makes me gag. My grandmother cooked calves brains occasionally, but just the smell of that nauseated me. I've tried oysters and clams, but I hate them both. They're rubbery-chewy and disgusting to me. Oysters are like balls of phlegm, yech.

hmm

I adore raw seafood-all sorts, and living on the Chesapeake means raw oysters as often as possible.
Being a chef I have had all organ meats,not into any except liver, and then only rarely.
Tripe,brains,glands, tongue- are too disgusting for words-and yes I have had them prepared a multitude of ways.

Lots of game, lots of domesticated game like Bison, although maybe since its domesticated now it is no longer game.

As to the less accepted arthropods:crickets-fried, mealworms-fried,ants-chocolate covered,grasshoppers-fried and a few years back a taste of steamed cicadas(somewhat asparagus like, reminded me of fiddle head ferns) and a few worms-dried.

One of the most awful things I ever ate was a huge blob of tomato aspic, which I know is not awful, I have made many since then for catering clients. But as a small child to think you are getting Jello and there on a plate with a glop of mayonnaise upon it, is a shimmering, viscous pile of tomato aspic. :eek:

The usual wild game, and a couple pussies, you can get them at any decent chinese restaurant:rolleyes:

The worst I ever saw was at deer camp a few years ago.
We had gotten a buck, and cut the antlers off. Our cook was watching out the window.
As soon as that deer head hit the ground he went running out there with a spoon in hand, grabbed the head, and started spooning out the brains and eating them. Just drooling he says MMMMMMM you can't beat fresh brains.

A few of the guys puked on the spot.

Let's see.