The Smooch of Death

mildlyaroused

silly bitch
The Smooch of Death is when the excitement for a story starts to fade. The fingertips grow cold. Progress dips and curdles.

As a slow writer, I am all too familiar with this terrible state. My latest novel has been subject to multiple months-long hiatuses which made my return agonising. In both cases I ended up going for a complete rewrite.

Do other people have this same experience, where the passage of time distances you from your story? How long does it take for the Smooch to set in? How do you try to avoid it?

The obvious choice is just to write more, and more consistently. If the story is constantly moving then you're less likely to stagnate as an author and the Smooch won't catch up. But this assumes we don't get busy, or lazy, or writer's block - all of which are bold assumptions.

The best solution I've found is akin to headbutting a brick wall until it breaks: just throw yourself at your story, world and characters. Read your manuscript from the start. Immerse yourself in all your authorly notes you took when you were inspired. Eventually your brain will hit a snag of inspiration and you're off, and then you just don't stop fucking typing. It's kind of funny that 99% of solutions in writing amount to get over it and write.

Anyway, just curious on others' thoughts.

Several of my stories have suffered this affliction of late. It’s mostly due to a perceived lack of reader enthusiasm. And a busy life outside the writing world. Maybe someday I’ll get back to it. For now motivation and time are lacking. I encourage my fans to comment on my stories and send feedback to me in general if they wish to aid the situation thx.

But yeah, in the past all I have needed is the proper inspiration to get writing again. Inspiring video games and other media, past reminiscences, other insights have all engaged me at times. Then I start writing and can’t stop till I’m done.