So what's this intersex thing?

stickygirl

All the witches
Since we now have an 'I' in the forum title, I thought I'd kick off a thread about Intersex and you're all welcome to chip in. I'm not an expert by any means, but since estimates are that there are as many Intersex people as Transgender (1-2%) they deserve to be understood.

Firstly, it's a genetic condition and you can google the facts or check out their support network InterAct. There's no reason why an intersex person would necessarily gravitate to Lit because from the pov of sexuality and their libido, they're no different to the rest of the population.
It's also an umbrella term to cover a number of different genetic variations that manifest themselves in physical differences that may appear in a newly born infant.

In the past the medical world took it upon themselves to provide a "cure" by performing "corrective surgery". Essentially they flipped a coin and decided 'Well these genitals look vaguely masculine so lets do a nip and tuck' thinking that gender was decided by what was between a person's legs. Even when ultra sound became available to provide further information, the medical wisdom was that 'Your child will integrate better in society if they look 'normal'' and 'the kid will get used to it'.

The results were often disastrous to the individual later in life, causing them both physical and mental problems. The practise was largely stopped around 2000 as parents become more enlightened about the condition, but it still isn't illegal.

Aside from being aware of the scope of the variations, that's about all I know. I probably have met an intersex person, and so have you, but I haven't yet shaken hands and talked about it with them.

Here's a bit of reading for you in a book called Annabel by Kathleen Winter 2011. It's a touching story that explores a fictional character and their family, from birth through to the awakening of the hidden gender of the protagonist. A good read.