Is I/T the only category where characters constantly cross and redraw lines?

8letters

Writing
I'm an I/T writer and reader. In a lot of my stories, I have the two main characters constantly crossing lines in their relationship, drawing new lines, and then crossing the new lines. For example, in Dad's Bowling Night with Mom, the first crossing of the line is when the mom lets the son rub her bottom. New line is drawn. The son then convinces her to let him practice kissing with her. New line is drawn. And so on until they are fucking. It's a common thing to do in I/T stories.

Do other categories have stories that do this? Maybe First Time?

I think they do. I write stories in I/T, so I know exactly what you are talking about, and I play around with "lines" all the time--edging up close to them, stepping over them, creating new lines, and then stepping over those as well. My "Hot Mom" chapter series was all about pushing and stepping over new boundaries with each chapter.

It can be done, and is done, in other categories as well. For instance, in another favorite category of mine, Exhibitionism and Voyeur. A woman will cross one boundary of exhibitionism, and then in the next episode go a little further and cross another boundary, until the exhibitionism becomes more and more bold and outrageous. Same thing with Fetish.

Not everybody is this way, but I personally find the concept of lines/boundaries very titillating and arousing, and from what I can see readers do too. It's a phenomenon that isn't confined to any particular category.

The son then convinces her to let him practice kissing with her. New line is drawn. And so on until they are fucking.
That sounds like just the standard progression applied to a situation where maybe the lines are more taboo than other lines.

I wouid think every genre has versions of those lines typical to it, or at least common.