How do you know when to stop working on a story?

BelleCanzuto

Professional Sloth
I'm a very newbie, and I only have seven stories published. But, I'm already addicted to that red "H", and I'm obsessing over my latest potential submission. It's in a genre I've not submitted for before, and it's a premise that I haven't seen in that genre. So, I don't have a good sense of how it will go over.

I sent it to a volunteer editor, and got a positive response. But that aspect of having another person look at it is also feeding my uncertaintiy.

I put it away for a while to work on my Nude Day submission, and a couple of other stories. But I want to finish it without "polishing" it into dust. So, what are your techniques for figuring out when to stop?

(It's a mind control story narrated by the person who's mind is being controlled; who's having a moment of clarity about what's been happening to them)

Thanks for the advice.

I stop working on it when it's been published--and I try to do little messing around with it other than filling out some of the detail and honing up some of the thematic work between the first draft and the final publication.

I mean, it's done when it's done, no?

You're the writer. If you don't know when you're done, how would we?

Less flippantly, the answer to your question depends entirely on how you work. If you're one of those draft, redraft, reredraft, send to an editor, get it back, rereredraft, tinker, then rerereredraft once more, I can offer nothing because that's not how I work.

I edit as I go. When I'm through with the rough version, I go back through precisely once, and quickly, to make sure it's got good continuity. Then I'm finished. Completely finished. I never go back in and tinker; I'm on to the next one. I dislike creative things (stories, paintings, movies, songs) that are overly polished; I feel the further they get from the creative moment, the less unique they are.