POV switch with new chapter -- advice?

RowanReese

Virgin
I'm a newbie to publishing on Literotica. I tend to write in chapters with an average length of 2500-4000 words, and I frequently use alternating POV that changes back and forth with each new chapter. My preliminary reading on this forum would suggest that each chapter would be 1-2 pages on Literotica, and I fully expect my current WIP to end up having in the neighborhood of 25-30 chapters.

So I'm hoping some more seasoned folks here can advise on how to best format/publish this beast. I'm obviously looking to make sure the reader can follow the POV changes, to keep the formatting as clean as possible, and to thread the reader's needle of "short enough that I don't give up before I'm two pages in" and "long enough to make it worth my while" for each part I submit.

Thanks!

I think the default best practice in this situation is to write each chapter in the third person limited POV, switching from one character to another at the chapter break. I do NOT recommend using first person POV. In most cases, to me, switching first person POV seems contrived and less natural, and it's more jarring and confusing, whereas when you use third person limited it's very easy to establish the new POV at the beginning of the new chapter.

I think the default best practice in this situation is to write each chapter in the third person limited POV, switching from one character to another at the chapter break. I do NOT recommend using first person POV. In most cases, to me, switching first person POV seems contrived and less natural, and it's more jarring and confusing, whereas when you use third person limited it's very easy to establish the new POV at the beginning of the new chapter.