Running out of steam

Like many here, it happens to me too, sometimes weeks, sometimes months. I have about 100 or so stories I've started and from time to time I'll go back and read a few. Sometimes they hit me the right way and kick my writing into gear. Sometimes I read them and go, "WTF???" and they go bye, bye to the ether gods or wherever deleted things go.

As a hobby writer, I write on my terms in my time. This gives me the freedom to write what I want when I want. Because of that, stress about an unfinished story is nonexistent. I are a lazy bastard at times and be okay with that.

Comshaw

Last edited:
Can totally relate at the moment.

Several stories, some partly written, some just ideas. All of them stalled.

Had one jump out at me and started strong but then just trickled to a halt.

Can't force these things. Best we can do is not stress over it too much.

Sounds familiar. I think it was about a year, year and a half between my story The White Room and when I finally came up with the sequel.
Yeah, the path our shared hobby takes is definitely not linear. That' a good thing, I think. Can't count how many ideas I've gotten for stalled stories when working on something else.

Hi, it looks like you're new to internet forums! Would you like some help?
Actually, I wouldn't say he's new to the forums. Anyway, Rob, I've noted how long it takes to write a story or essay. It takes more patience then I had expected. Usually they can't just be churned out in a week or two. I just write or edit when I feel like it. I work on it and then I stop when I think I'm done. It's taken me a couple of days to write 1,500 words, but it will be there tomorrow.

It took me a year to get back to the last chapter of a series on another site, and that was only 4,000 words.