Posting an updated story and keeping the original?

grenefire

Really Really Experienced
Hi all,

I’ve been writing on lit for 16 years now and I’ve been tempted to rewrite one of my first stories, Dear Daddy ch 1. After a long gap I went back and made that story into a series but I feel like that first chapter isn’t as good as the rest.

Is it possible to rewrite the story but keep both posted? Maybe having the title of the reworked story be Dear Daddy chapter 1 (2024 edition). Is that allowed?

Here is the link to the original story. It definitely isn’t up to my current standards but it has the kernel of a good story.

https://literotica.com/s/dear-daddy-ch-01/comments

Last edited:
If you're not pleased with it then why do you want to keep both published? There is a process for editing a story and replacing it (see FAQ). The edited version will keep the same score, comments, views, etc.

Last I experienced, no, Laurel didn't want two versions of the same story in the story file.

If you're not pleased with it then why do you want to keep both published? There is a process for editing a story and replacing it (see FAQ). The edited version will keep the same score, comments, views, etc.
I tend to agree. Keeping both seems pointless in the bigger scheme of things.

While you could theoretically submit a second version, calling it something "Dear Daddy CH1 - redux" or "Dear Daddy ch1 v2", it would likely just confuse readers and turn them off to your inability to commit to one version versus the other.

Submit the new version as "Dear Daddy ch1 - EDIT" and the original will be cleanly replaced with the new one and everything will remain as it was from a comments and score perspective.