Male writer seeking feedback from women

Hello, all. In this serial story I'm trying to put the 18yo me, sexually-inexperienced, from a small, mostly-white Midwestern city, into a college setting where he starts noticing black women, then meets 2 black female seniors who "take him under their wing" to advance his sexual education.

I can write my character of course, but I want my female characters to be as realistic as possible.

A lot of that is simple male vs. female stuff, which any woman could speak to, and that would be great, but I'm hoping to find a black woman who's sort of lived the experiences of some of my female characters. Someone who's experienced that racial divide, who's maybe dated white guys in HS, or who was dissuaded from doing so because it was somewhat taboo. I graduated HS in 1981, and in my small town it still mostly was. Today that's not so much of a 'thing,' but there still seems to be an expectation to date within your race. That's the piece I really want to get at. How did an 18yo black girl 20 years ago feel about white boys her age? Is she conflicted about being attracted to them, about dating them? Those sorts of things.

I want to make sure I'm at least close to right on my female characterizations. So if any women out there would like to read it:
White Freshman, Black Coeds Ch.1 And: Chapter 2

Thanks!
"Mark"

Last edited:
Hi Mr. Mark, I'm not an African American woman or anything but I read your stories and enjoyed them. For what it's worth I suspect some readers may have been put off by the fact that all the action in the first chapter was in the MC's imagination. We're already fantasizing, we don't necessarily want to fantasize about fantasizing, if that makes sense! (Well maybe sometimes we do.) That said it does build the scenario and I liked where things went in chapter 2. But I'd chalk any lower scores than usual to the daydream.