How have you mirrored real life in your fictional writing?

AchtungNight

Lech Master
I’m a fanfic writer whose stories have featured real life celebrity couples including TomKat, Brangelina, Evan Rachel Wood & Jamie Bell (also some irritating musician who goes by a fake name), Sacha Baron Cohen & Isla Fisher, and others. This has included cheating, open relationships, and mocking people on occasion. I once featured serial dater Alicia Witt with her real life fiancé with whom she broke up later on a “last date” where he chose the wrong Halloween costume (Comissioner Gordon to her Batgirl… oops!). In another story I had Busy Phillips meet her eventual real life husband (they’ve since divorced) and get attracted to him while also discovering she was bisexual and into her co-stars on Dawson’s Creek. I also referenced my author avatar having a past divorce with a woman based on my ex-wife (did this with her permission, the relationship never appears on screen). I only deal with the consensual stuff of course, and I acknowledge that what I do is fiction, not reality.

Have other authors here done similar things? Would you like to discuss them? This is your thread!

I include historical people (or a direct parallel of them) occasionally but still-living people, not so much. There's almost always some real-life in my experience/observation at the center of the story.

I don't and never would write about celebrities. Not for any legal reason, I just have zero interest in their doings. I have included the odd mention of a few or of politicians or similar to 'place' a story in a time and culture. But that's it, it's a reference that I count on most readers to understand. As to fanfic, not my thing. Again, no interest in shipping characters or such.