Good ending is bad ending is good ending?

Kyriel_02

Virgin
Hey y’all,

I am a new writer with exactly one story to my name which I hope to continue in parts (after a long hiatus… mess of a year). The story is in the Noncon/reluctance category I’d say, about an app/sleep aid that actually has a secret set of other customers on the dark web, who can pay to have secret hypnotic suggestions get trojaned in to any adult’s program. You can imagine what the primary use of this is :)

The story will center around an older private detective and a young woman seeking to understand and track down the whereabouts of her mother, a user of the app. I have the story mapped out and I like these main characters, who find genuine attraction and solace in each other after not finding their place in the sunnier parts of society.

Thing is… happy endings seem a bit… conventional? I should like that the female protagonist ultimately succumb to the debauchery that her mother gets ensnared in :) and I suppose the PI could follow suit. What is everyone’s take on this, though? Is there a place for “bad” endings (one where the characters fail ultimately in their goals but still get tricked into unending pleasure), or would that diminish from my narrative focus on the protagonist? Would a bad ending necessarily feel cheap in such a case?

My advice is to challenge yourself into making the “bad ending” seem good for the characters and the readers who might identify with them. What makes your protagonists seek the endless pleasures? Answers? Loneliness? Power to shape their circumstances? Get into their heads and see what they want. Maybe they will lead you to a satisfying conclusion. It’s happened to me enough times.