Comments in a foreign language?

TheLobster

Experienced
I haven't seen any mention of this, and I'm very new to publishing on Lit, so I figured I'm gonna ask.

What do you do with foreign language (i.e. non-English) comments on your (English) stories?

I've had several so far, all in Spanish, and it kinda surprised me. I cannot quite understand the motivation of people leaving them. They have clearly enjoyed the story (Google Translate told me so, since my Spanish is negligible), so they clearly posses sufficient command of English to read not just fiction, but erotic fiction no less. I have a hard time believing they weren't able to write a comment that other readers would be much more likely to understand.

Perhaps I'm overthinking this. If you do receive comments like that, what do you with them? Leave? Delete? Something else?

For someone with a modest second language proficiency, it is easier to read that language than it is to write or speak it. I am pleased when someone leaves a comment, even if it is not in English. I delete only comments which are inappropriate, no matter which language they are in.

I've never had a foreign language comment, but I don't see why it would bother me. As you said google translate is easily accessible, which would help me read their comment. Unless there's something offensive about the comment itself, I just appreciate when someone takes the time to drop a note.

I have a hard time believing they weren't able to write a comment that other readers would be much more likely to understand.

Perhaps I'm overthinking this. If you do receive comments like that, what do you with them? Leave? Delete? Something else?
Why would you think it strange that someone might want to comment in their native language? You should be pleased they've read your story and pleased they made the effort to comment.