Academic (or other) backgrounds of AH denizens

EmilyMiller

Good men did nothing
I’m not assuming everyone on here is college educated, but talking about majors is a shorthand for your background.

I majored in Biology and then did a Masters in Structural Biology. I did some literature-related classes as an undergraduate, but not many. My professional life has nothing to do with creative writing. I have always read voraciously though.

I was wondering how many people here majored in English, or have worked in a literature-related job.

What about other backgrounds?

No ulterior motive, just curious as ever.

Em

I majored in Physics and Computer Science. The sciences were fun but... well... Mathematics used me as a fuck toy for two years and I ended up dropping it and picking up some random credits along the way to fulfil my credits quota.

I often wish I'd done some undergraduate English. Not towards a degree, but... just for fun. And maybe some fine art as well. Ah well.

Regrets are endless, I guess.

Mathematics used me as a fuck toy for two years and I ended up dropping it
I struggled with proper math. I have a Lit friend (currently taking a break from here) who is a math freshman. I know enough to follow a bit of what she says, then she loses me entirely 👱‍♀️.

Em

Started in Physics, downgraded to Civil Engineering, then defected to Computer Science my junior year. But my best grades were always in English/literature classes requiring writing. And, of course, music. Should've done the music thing, but, you know, bygones.

Then most of my career was managing typesetting and proofreading operations at large printing or publishing companies. Somewhat related to creative writing, I guess. Last gig was Software Engineer for a Civil Engineering-related company. Odd how that worked out.

Mathematics used me as a fuck toy for two years...