What is the age difference between you and your SO? What is your limit if you're single?

Bob_Bytchin

Lit Class of '02
My wife and I have a 3 year age difference, me being older. I graduated 4 years before her, and used to see her around her neighborhood. Imagine the scandal of a senior dating an 8th grader if we had really known each other. I did meet her years later though, and we're now married.

My first wife was my age, my second wife (who used to post on Lit) was 5 years younger than me. Anything more of a difference bothered me.

So what age difference do you and your SO have? What's the greatest difference you think is ok?

first boyfriend was 19 when i was 16... married him at nearly 19, first child at 23...and we split up when i was 31.
second, i was 31, he told me he was mid 20s but he was 21. everything about him was a lie.
my husband now, H, is 8 years older than me. he embraces his inner child well at times so i don't feel he's a lot older than me.

age gaps may have their problems in relationships, but so do any differences between couples: soft or firm mattress, what kind of holidays or sports or hobbies partners like, whether or not religion rears its head, what kind of food they enjoy yadda yadda yadda.

too big an age gap? that's all about the individuals involved and honesty. A couple might fall in love with a large age gap between them, but would sooner spend what time they might have together, perhaps 10 years, maybe 30, with the person they love than be without them. I respect the individuals' choices so long as it's not about coercion, manipulation, lies and so on. Even if it's a purely financially beneficial arrangement for a couple to choose to be together, so long as they're both honest and happy about it ...no problems.

i wouldn't want to date or be with someone my kids' ages or who'd feel like a parent to me, but then you never know what the future holds and no-one chooses to fall in love.

My wife is 8 months older.