Self-bondage advice

M

muddler35

My LDR and I are interested in exploring self-bondage. Neither of us has any experience with this. We’re doing our own research, but we’d love to hear from people with firsthand experience.
Safety is our #1 concern.
Thanks.

Maybe you could be a little bit less cryptic? Gender of the person that will be tied does matter 😂
As well the goals that the two of you are trying to achieve. What is the sub looking for in terms of emotional/physical results? What is the Dom's goal in this?

I used to do this semi-regularly for my ex.

First things first--be very fucking careful. Nothing around the neck that can tighten on its own. A collar is fine because once it's buckled, it's not going anywhere, but no rope or anything like that.

I'm not good at tying knots, so I'm a big fan of buckling leather (or nylon or latex or whatever) cuffs, both for wrists and ankles. You can snap them together with a carabiner, and boom, bondage. Carabiners are also good for attaching ropes. If you tie a knot, you might get into a position where you have to cut yourself loose. If you use carabiners at the end of a rope to attach to rings on cuffs, then it's easy to just pop it open to get out. They're also cheap and come in pretty colors.

No suspension by yourself, please. That's a good way to get badly hurt.

Always leave yourself a quick escape route. What if the house catches on fire while you're tied up? You don't wanna have to go through a lot to get loose.

That's all I can think of for just general stuff off the top of my head. If you have any specific questions, or if I think of anything else, I'll come back and add more. :)

Thank you both very much for your responses. We appreciate it greatly.

We’ll discuss both @AnnieLit ’s and @BiBunny ’s input before responding. Annie for her psychosexual take and BiBunny for her logistical advice. We do everything as partners, so bear with us. We really do appreciate y’all’s perspectives.
Thanks again.