Publishing translations of stories

velcrofist

Virgin
A fan has translated my stories into German but I'm not sure how to go about publishing them. Should I start a new login with a joint username? Or perhaps just publish them under my existing username and add a "- German" suffix in the title so they show up as a separate series?

A fan has translated my stories into German but I'm not sure how to go about publishing them. Should I start a new login with a joint username? Or perhaps just publish them under my existing username and add a "- German" suffix in the title so they show up as a separate series?
That's hugely satisfying!!

I'd publish under your account, and use the Series function to group them.

Wouldn't a German story title make it obvious, though?

Also, I'd update your account details to acknowledge the translator. That's a real labour of love, amazing.

In my work as an editor I often deal with translations. Both full human translation and post-edited machine translation. And sometimes unedited machine translation. Here's a warning: translation takes skill and practice. If an amateur does it, 99 times out of 100 it will be obvious.

I don't mean to diminish the fan's effort, but a professional translator has an output of about 300 words an hour. Even post-editing a machine-translated text is generally no more than 5-700 words per hour. You can't translate the text word for word, or even sentence for sentence. In some cases you can't even translate paragraph for paragraph. There's a reason why translators nowadays get credit alongside the author for published works. It often involves an entire rewrite.