hi i'm new i have a question

Hey all,

I've been a long time lurker of literotica, but I only just made an account and posted my first story a few days ago. I honestly didn't expect anyone to even see it, but when I went to check if it was up, I saw that not only had it posted but it's gathered about 3k views so far. That was super shocking to me, and as there are very few comments and likes I was wondering if maybe the 3k views is an inflated number or something? Or, if that's actually real and people read my story, is that a realistic representation of the ratio of people who actually like and comment? It just felt odd to me, but again I've never done this before.

Trying to figure out how much this should go to my head and how terrified I should be that people read it, if anyone could let me know that would be great =)

Thanks,
Peaches (he/they)

Views just means how many times the story was opened. It doesn't mean that everyone who opened it read through it to the end.

Depending on the category, 3k can be normal for the first few days.

On average, vote counts are around 1-3% of views.

It's pretty normal to obsess about it a little, but try not to take validation from it. There is a definite rush seeing the stats move up, but it's just numbers.

Views represents how many times someone clicked on your story. It doesn't necessarily mean they read it, of course.

Whether 3k is a high number or not depends on the category. I have a story in Sci-Fi/Fantasy that's on 974 views after nearly three months. In Exhibitionist & Voyeur I have one that's been viewed a little over 2000 times in three months, and two others that soared to 5k in a few days. My one venture into Incest/Taboo is sitting at 67k views after one week - but still only a dozen comments.