Hello

I have noticed that sometimes readers make suggestions in comments besides saying if they liked a story or not. If you are an author, did you ever use a suggestion, request, or idea you found in your comments to revise a story or to write a new one?
If I have an inspiring conversation with someone that starts from comments sure. That has happened maybe 2 or 3 times in 20+ years.

Most of the time I get "can you write scene XYZ in genre ABC?" wherein one of those two if not both is an extreme 'squick' for me, or just something I have no knowledge of or interest in.

A good number of randos just leave weird comments. One word 'hello', a few that managed to leave blank comments back when I was on ASSTR (and back when ASSTR was still alive).

I do get a couple of "We should start private chatting or meeting in this game platform or emailing or something, here's my info: stuff" I almost always ignore those. I am guilty of accidentally sending one to another author on another site and ending up in a months long conversation even though they wrote in a genre that deeply bothers me (the age of his characters prevents him from writing here...).

I wish I did get more engaging comments, but I don't.

I have never altered a story, and to be honest, I can't find any comments from my readers suggesting any.

What I have changed, based entirely on reader feedback, is how I submit stories. I stopped submitting in parts or chapters and now only submit the complete story in one posting.

A common comment I receive is to write another chapter. While such comments are perhaps gratifying to read, I usually ignore them. Many of my stories, as life itself, don’t end with a definite conclusion as there is always tomorrow until, for a given person, there isn’t.

Yeah. Went to bed at 9:30. Couldn’t sleep. Jet-lag sucks.

I’m going to see if I can strike up a relationship with Bill Murray in the bar - BRB.

Em
BILL MURRAY’S AT THE BAR?!?!?