Hello

Yellowbirdy

Virgin
I am new here, but i have been secretly reading for a while and decided finally to come in. I would like to say I am a writer, but, well, i am probably not good enough. But i do have fun reading. I have noticed that sometimes readers make suggestions in comments besides saying if they liked a story or not. If you are an author, did you ever use a suggestion, request, or idea you found in your comments to revise a story or to write a new one? Thank you. Just wondering.

First of all: welcome.

I'll probably be one of the few to admit reader feedback did sway my writing, at least in one particular series I was writing a new chapter for.

But I've never revised or changed an already published story just because someone didn't like something or suggested a different ending or whatever.

Of course. I love comments, and the reader suggestions sometimes are excellent. I keep a record for each story and if a rewrite is needed I'll make the improvements. They've also generated several sequels, not all are published though.

BTW Welcome!

I've never altered a story because of a suggestion from a reader, but I have had readers make suggestions that I already had in the hopper for a following chapter, which made me feel good that I was on track with what some would like to see in a story.

The only times I have gone back and changed anything previously published because of a comment was when the reader has pointed out some glaring error, such as mixing up the characters names.

But, I have taken some criticism in reader comments seriously in terms of improving my writing, and I believe I am a better writer for it.