Credit Card Fees

Bigboobbabe

Literotica Guru
I grew up in the 70's and remember the recession with gasoline rationing, etc.
I graduated HS and College in the 80's. Getting a shiny new credit card was the first sign you made it as an adult.

In the 1990's, I carried a checkbook, cash, debit card, and credit card everywhere I went. Different stores had different rules, and being prepared was required.

There was a time when the goal was to go cash-free. All banking would be done with plastic cards (debit or credit) with PayPal in its infancy.

Shopping now is a throwback I would rather throw away.

I spent almost $2K at the service department for my car.
My first thought was all the Disney reward dollars this would earn. I was pumped.
Then the cashier informed me there was a 3% fee for using a credit card. These fees used to be paid by the business to encourage immediate, guaranteed payment.
Any way I did the math, the credit card fees crushed the reward dollars.

The cashier asked if I had a check or debit card to use instead. I prefer not to use my debit card because a hacker can drain my accounts in a split second. Checking, savings, business checking, business credit card.
When I use a credit card, my money is not tied up during the investigation, just my ability to use that card at that moment.

I don't carry a check book, and I refuse to pay 3% or nearly $60 for the security. I used my debit card. And now I am open to fraud.

I stopped carrying cash and started tipping with Venmo and Zelle. Now the recipients are being charged and taxed on income. I am OK with true income being taxed, but my daughter repaying a full semester tuition I fronted her is putting me at risk for an audit on unclaimed income.
We don't live together. It's crazy for her to be relegated to writing checks and mailing them so I don't get audited over $3K a year.

We are moving backward in risk and liability when it comes to our money. It's a huge setback and totally unnecessary.