Advice on Novel Chapters

Red_Herring4

A Little Fishy
For those of you who've written a novel-length work, how did you divide it into chapters? Did you outline the major plot points that you wanted each chapter to cover and work from that? Did you just start writing the thing, breaking it into chapters as you went? Did your chapter divisions change after you'd completed a first draft because you now had a clear picture of the whole?

I had a clear vision for the first two chapters, and they are coming out pretty much how I expected. After that, it's a bit more nebulous. I know the broad plot points I want to cover in the story, but I don't know that I want to try to segment them into chapters this far out. I'm planning to just write and figure out what divisions make the most sense as I go. I should mention that I also have a pretty solid idea of where I want to end up in the final chapter, so that should be helpful.

This is my first attempt at a non-erotic novel (my longest story to date is ~21,000 words), so I'm curious how others have tackled chapters.

When I first started my fantasy series, which is now almost 200k words long and very far from being over, I outlined the main characters and some general directions of my story. I imagined each chapter as an episode in a different place with different things happening and so on. Since at the time I was holding onto this dogma that my chapters should be about 10k words long, some of my episodes were split into two or three parts, which I am not sure was such a great idea. It wasn't terrible, as I managed to find good spots to end each chapter, but I believe splitting the episode like that took away from the readers' experience. After the first part of my series ended, I started getting ideas on how to progress the story, and at this exact moment, I have ideas and a rough plot direction for an additional 300k words at least.