What makes a true submissive?

SassyLady87

Literotica Guru
I've acquainted myself with the world of BDSM as well as D/s relationships for years now. I identify as someone who is submissive but on many ocassions I've been told that I'm not a true submissive because I do have a strong personality and have been an independent woman for a long time now. I feel thats an ignorant way of thinking and always assume its because they arent informed or just settle for perpetuating stereotypes without researching. What do you guys think?

If this has been brought up as a thread before, I am really sorry. I'm new to the BDSM Talk forum.

If you consider yourself to be submissive, then fuck what other people have to say about your submission, except the person to whom you are submitting.

Everyone has an opinion about what true submission looks like, and it usually fits how they submit our how they like being submitted to. Honestly, if we tried to follow everyone's idea of submission, we'd go crazy before the first day was done.

If you consider yourself to be submissive, then fuck what other people have to say about your submission, except the person to whom you are submitting.

Everyone has an opinion about what true submission looks like, and it usually fits how they submit our how they like being submitted to. Honestly, if we tried to follow everyone's idea of submission, we'd go crazy before the first day was done.

This! So very much this!

There is no end of people willing to tell you how you should think and act to be as <insert label> as they are; all the while telling you they don't believe in "one true way". Take everything, including this, with a grain of salt and seek what makes you and your partner happy.

I think of people saying "true sub" or "true daddy" as the same type of people who say "the true Christianity" or "the true Islam". Nobody has a monopoly on ideas/definitions.