playing with fire

Comshaw

VAGITARIAN
A lot of the inspiration for my stories comes from personal experience. But some come from those around me. I was a welder fabricator for many years and learned the trick in the video a long time ago. Use an oxy/acetylene torch and fill a garbage bag with a 50/50 mix of gas. Put a fuse on it, light it and get the hell away from it. As you can see it makes a big bang and a huge fireball. I've even done it a couple of times. But I was way too cautious to do it more than twice.

A friend of mine though would do this every New Years, Fourth of July and on other celebration days. The problem was he always wanted a bigger and bigger bang, so began to fill the garbage bag with more and more gas. And instead of a long fuse, he used an M80 firecracker. He tried it one too many times. As he lit the firecracker the bag ignited in his hand. When he got to the hospital his hand was burned so badly his fingers were fused together. He spent a year recuperating and luckily they saved his hand and he can even use it, though it is scarred. He never did that again. Many times good judgement comes from bad decisions we survive.

Comshaw

People risk so much for a moment of fun. I wonder if your friend truly learned the lesson. I mean, he is unlikely to do this particular trick again, but unless he changed his mindset, he might do something equally risky in some different way.

I remember watching folks on the flight line playing with liquid oxygen. They would have a small blob of lox sitting in the palm of their leather gloved hand then they'd just clap the other hand down on it and there was a tremendous bang from that, and I have no doubt there's been some injuries from playing with LOX like that.