Writing a Playbill for a Complex Series

MrPixel

Just a Regular Guy
This has been discussed before, the creation of a standalone story or long preface outlining the characters in a story. IIRC, some considered it pretentious, others superfluous. However...

...the apparent need for a meta-story has raised its ugly head with the polyamory tale I've been writing for several months, starting with Barstow. It's a tale of two swinger couples who have joined forces spreading their interpretation of joyous, loving sex both at home and across most of the Sun Belt. The problem is the most recent stories about their hosting swinger parties at their home, where I have received criticism for "too many characters and too much action," the implication being that it was unreadable, duly rewarded with uncalled-for one-bombs which killed its red 'H'. My pushback, more or less, is that we're having a swinger party here, the more, the merrier.

Now the series may not exactly amount to War and Peace, but, yeah, there are a bunch of characters accumulated along the way, some appearing in previous stories and referenced in current writing. The most recent published example has 16 named characters. The next story, a sub-series of three chapters about to be uploaded about a big Super Bowl-themed swinger party, has by my count around 33 named characters, most in the action, a handful merely referential.

I would estimate the full story line has something in the neighborhood of 60-70 characters, probably more; I haven't counted yet. But I will admit that even I had to create a spreadsheet to keep track of the who's who at the big swinger bash. For the meta-story, I'm thinking along the lines of the TV series outlines we see on Wikipedia or IMDB, where there is a table or index of characters and which episodes they appeared in. A character index, in other words. I did this for a previous series and received no meaningful comment one way or another.