Story rejected...but it's just chapter 1

Hi all. I submitted chapter 1 of a new story (my first on Lit in a LONG time, under a new name...). It was rejected. I'm guessing because it's under 750 words. But it's just chapter 1. I plan to post multiple chapters. Do they HAVE to be 750 words? I know it's well-written in terms of not needing an editor because I AM a professional editor. LOL So the only reason I can think of that it was rejected was because of word count. TIA!

My advice- see if you can expand the story within the chapter’s boundaries. Could your sex scenes use more detail? What about a character’s emotions? You sound like you have more chapters drafted, how about a little foreshadowing? I’m not sure why they have the word count requirement, but it’s easy to add more text if you’re into your story.

My advice- see if you can expand the story within the chapter’s boundaries. Could your sex scenes use more detail? What about a character’s emotions? You sound like you have more chapters drafted, how about a little foreshadowing? I’m not sure why they have the word count requirement, but it’s easy to add more text if you’re into your story.
It's chapter one. There IS no sex yet. LOL It's just basically the introduction of the characters, setting up the fact that they haven't seen each other in four years, their history, etc. :( I mean, I could add another 100 characters into it. It just seems silly and kind of stupid to have to do that when it wouldn't add anything. lol

We have a 750-word challenge here and I did write something for it. It is by FAR my least-read work. Most readers aren't even going to bother unless there's enough story to get their teeth into. I wouldn't post ANYTHING less than 5k at a time. If you want people to read it, that is.