SimonDoom Review Thread

SimonDoom

Kink Lord
I'll throw my hat in the ring and give this a try, at least for a while, if it seems worthwhile. Send me a link to a story and I'll submit a detailed review of it. No stories over 7 Lit pages. I want to review short stories, not novels and novellas. I might be able to do about one story per week, so keep that in mind.

My background: I have no experience writing fiction other than what I've written at Literotica. I've written and posted 51 stories since December 2016 and I have 4316 followers, which makes me the 77th most-followed author at Literotica. I have a degree with high honors in American literature from an American university. I taught high school English for a little while. I've spent decades in a profession in which I write every day, copiously. I have edited an academic journal. I've been an avid reader of all kinds of fiction, from low brow to high brow, since I was a kid. I've been an enthusiastic reader of online erotica since around the turn of the millennium. I have no idea how many Literotica stories I've read. Hundreds. Thousands. I don't know.

None of this means my opinion is correct, or even valuable. You can decide for yourself.

My reviewing criteria/philosophy:

1. I do NOT judge authors by their kinks and erotic preferences, even if they are not my own.

2. I am something of a stickler on matters of grammar, spelling, and punctuation. As a reader, it makes a huge difference for me, and I will let you know it, but I'll try to do so in a helpful way.

3. As a reviewer, the main questions I ask are:

a. How well do I think you accomplished the erotic/artistic purpose you were trying to achieve with this story (as I understand it), and why?
b. How strong was your command of the writing mechanics in the story? Spelling, punctuation, grammar, point of view, tense, dialogue, etc.
c. How pleasing and artful was the prose style?