Settling

K0fcali

Virgin- born again
I was just wondering who settles more in relationships men or women? Specifically asking people in long term committed relationships.

My longest relationship was 8 years, so I'm no expert. I can say that both partners settle to an extent, and relationships are always in flux.

I was just wondering who settles more in relationships men or women? Specifically asking people in long term committed relationships.
It's not clear whether "settling" to you means "settling down" or "settling for."

There are stereotypes about both and, at least in open societies, I think that's all they are - stereotypes.

There are just as many men who want to settle down as women, and there are probably just as many relationships where it's the man who wants to settle down with the woman more than she's ready to settle down herself, compared to where it's the woman who wants to "tame" the man and make him settle down with her. I hear all the time about relationships where the man is the "too settled" one and the woman is the regretful or unsatisfied one based on having settled down too young or under pressure or without adequate exploration. There's a stereotype that women want more to "settle down" than men do but I'm convinced it's bogus, despite the pseudo-psychology of evolutionary biology ideas on this subject.

There are just as many men who "settle for" a partner or a relationship which doesn't provide everything they want, or even most of it, as there are women who do the same thing. Again, I guess this is related to the above, there is a stereotype that women will "settle for" a man who they can get to "settle down" even if "settling down" is all they're getting out of the relationship. But again, I see men "settle for" unhealthy, unfair, unequal, imbalanced, unsatisfying relationships with women all the time. I'm extremely skeptical of the idea that this affects women more than men.