Learning patience as a writer

Not2Pervy

Seeker
I’ve been writing on here for almost two years, and although I’ve always known my stories could be better if I let them marinate for awhile before revising and submitting, I’ve never had the patience to do that. I might let them sit overnight before a last pass revision.

Now I’ve written a story for an upcoming challenge. Submissions aren’t open yet, so I’ve been forced to let it sit, which is leading to more careful and considered revision, not to mention totally new wrinkles to add in that I didn’t think of before.

My question for the group is, how long did it take you to learn to be patient with your stories? How long do you let them marinate in the revision process?

None of us are getting paid for this, so the incentive structure seems biased in favor of the quick submission to get that rush of sharing it and waiting for feedback.

I'm still not that patient. When I'm done with a story, my inclination is to publish it ASAP and move on to another story rather than let it sit and think about it to get it just right.

I don't feel a strong need to seek perfection at Literotica because a) I see this as a good opportunity to test one's writing skills, and b) I don't see a lot of concern for perfection here.

It's likely just a matter of perspective and comparison experiences (and congratulations on waiting - there are some advantages to patience.)

In the real world of publishing, be it articles (months) or books (a year or more), seeing your work appear in public feels like forever. Here, a few days seems minor in comparison, but the vetting, with some exceptions, is deliberate and mostly predictable.