How to write more?

Sultry23

Virgin
Hi, I’m new to writing and I love it! The problem, though, is that my writing is never fleshed out. I don’t include a lot of description (I am working on that though) and not a whole lot of dialogue either. It’s basically just “He did this. She did that.” I know that’s not how a good story is written, and I’ve been reading more and figuring out what I like and don’t like but I was wondering if you guys had any tips or resources for a newbie writer?

Write more, it comes with practice. You know what you want to improve, so when you work on your second draft (don't worry too much in your first draft for now) to include more description and dialog.

Also, read stories and look at how they do it. You can learn a lot by examining how other authors do it.

I feel you, because I'm similar to you. After a year and a half, I'm getting better, but it takes practice.

I think you've already begun: read more, write more. It takes practice, and the more you read - and the more widely you read - the more tools you gain for what you might like to try. Especially when you start reading with more of a writer's eye.

Dialogue is so important. I know it can be daunting for new authors, but you really can't afford to avoid it.

Set yourself challenges, like writing a short section entirely as dialogue without any he says she says attribution. Think about how to make the spoken dialogue sound flirty and fun.

I think making a start is good. Even suppose your first few lines or paragraphs are sketchy. Typically stories have plot and character. Character dialog can be a great way to develop a simple story. Start small then expand. Just ask questions like what happens next or what is some characters reaction to a comment. Some tips I hope help. Brutal One

If you have a story that goes A, B, C, then ask:
- What was before?
- What is next?
- What if C doesn't happen because the phone rings and ...?