ghosted by prospective editor: what next?

hi, I'm relatively new to the publishing side of Literotica, wondering whether there are established protocols for this situation.

I sent a draft of a story to someone who had posted their availability for editing in this forum. they had said they would be happy to edit my story for me. it's been a couple of months now and I've heard nothing back. I've reached out - politely - to find out what's up, a couple of times, and have had no response.

is this something that I would reach out to the Literotica folks for? or does this forum have a mod, or an uber-editor?

I'm worried now about 2 things, 1. the fate of my modest story being 'out there' in the world somewhere; and 2. how to find an editor actually interested/able/willing to put the work in.

any advice? do people have more success posting a request for an editor, describing the piece to be edited, rather than reaching out to people who post their availability?

If the person isn't responding, it's safe to assume that they either don't want to, or can't do the edit.

Your only recourse is to try to find another editor. The site only facilitates matching authors with editors. Once you connect, it's between you and them.

You can look through the list of current active editors here: https://www.literotica.com/my/#/editors/editors This is all the currently registered editors. It's sorted by how recently they've updated their profile. You can message any that look good to you.

I'd name them here. There may be a reason there's a disconnect, which could get cleared up. Otherwise, maintaining communications is a basic need in an author-editor relationship. Others should be called off even starting with this one if they aren't communicating. I assume you sent your story file to them? Without responses from them, it's reasonable to believe they are just stealing your story. There's no reason they should be protected unless they have a very good reason for ghosting you.