A Memorable Christmas

Comshaw

VAGITARIAN
It's the 24th of December 2023. I've been walking the planet now for 73 years. In that time I've had many Christmas celebrations that were memorable: as a youngin' with my family, with my wife before kids, with my wife, kids and family after that. One of the ones that sticks in my head and I think about every Christmas happened on the 25th of December 1970.

I think at least a few of you have read that I was an artillery mechanic while in the Army and the time I served in Vietnam. My base camp was at Phu Bi, on the coast south of Hue City. But I never spent much time there. I traveled to several fire support bases where the unit (1/83rd. Field Artillery) I supported had their cannons setup. I would often get stuck on the firebase when the road became impassible because of enemy activity. Sometimes it would be for up to a week. I could have sat on my thumbs and done nothing while I was there, but that is so damned boring to do. I usually volunteered for one of the gun crews, moving powder bags and joes (projectiles) from the bunkers to the guns. Or I'd volunteer for perimeter guard, sitting in a bunker of fighting position glassing the wire to make sure Charlie wasn't trying to sneak up on us.

On Christmas eve day we got a radio transmission that one of the 175mm guns was broken down and they needed me on firebase Birmingham. I joined a convoy on its way to that base and got there in the late afternoon. The problem with the gun was the recoil mechanism. Without going into a long involved explanation, it uses a hydropneumatic system to absorb the recoil of the cannon. The pneumatic part is high-pressure nitrogen and this one had leaked it out. Consequently, the gun couldn't be used. This is nothing like a bunch of panicked senior grade officers sitting in an airconditioned office on the coast. Anyway, I got it up and ready to go.