A little bit of an experiment

Bazzle

Smoking Hot
I've written several long stories over the last couple of years. These have resulted in highish scores but low numbers of votes.

In the last couple of weeks I've put up a couple of shorter stories. They have got amazing view to vote ratio...but they have "died" in terms of scores.

Either I'm a useless short story writer (highly plausible!) or peeps are more willing to vote for under a page stories but it as such are very much happy to vote 3.

The number of readers invested enough to go through to page 2 or 3 decrease but potentially they are more willing to give those 4 and 5's?

B

People will say longer stories are better, some say shorter. Quality of writing will be an affect, but so does catagory.

I've written several long stories over the last couple of years. These have resulted in highish scores but low numbers of votes.

In the last couple of weeks I've put up a couple of shorter stories. They have got amazing view to vote ratio...but they have "died" in terms of scores.

Either I'm a useless short story writer (highly plausible!) or peeps are more willing to vote for under a page stories but it as such are very much happy to vote 3.

The number of readers invested enough to go through to page 2 or 3 decrease but potentially they are more willing to give those 4 and 5's?

B
Long stories where you work to build credible characters, explain their actions, and justify the story arc are ... well, they're for those who have the time, patience, and inclination to read that type of story. And putting that time and effort into reading it, many people don't like to admit they wasted their time. So, they're probably more generous in their ratings (if they bother to rate it.)

Short stories get the views of people all over the board with their reactions. And more of them are likely to let you know.

Yes. Why would someone keep reading a story they dislike?