Are Lit ratings a good guide of success!

G

georgie57

I posted a story on Lit finally, and found myself anxiously watching its rating. (It started well, then slipped, and averaged out at 4.2) What do people think this rating really indicates? Is it a sign of anything much really, and if so, what is a good score? Or don't you think they matter

I wish I knew.
I've been writing for myself for about 15 years. Then I was brave enough to show a few friends some stuff I had written and they said it was good. But it's hard to know if friends aren't just saying that to not hurt your feelings.
Then I got brave enough to post stuff here and even though I have had some good comments and like you my ratings have leveled off at around 4.3 (which my kids keep saying that's out of 5 and you're not happy) and yeah that is pretty good I guess, but I strive for perfect and not seeing 5 out of 5 makes me feel like maybe what I write is crappy.

I think like any other art, and yes to me writing is art, you'll have people that love it and some that hate it. You can't please everyone can you?

I am trying to be happy with my less than perfect rating, and really that should just encourage me to write even better next time!

The ratings are as important as you want them to be. Most readers don't vote; and many of those who do vote, vote out of spite. (I'll show you, you smart arse author!)

It's disappointing when something that you thought was pretty successful struggles to get above three, but that doesn't really tell you anything about the quality of the story. In one bad 24-hour period, I lost 14 red Hs. Ask yourself: does that tell you anything useful?

I admit seeing those broken hearts and reading that someone has un-favorited a story of yours is well...heartbreaking.
A few people have said that sometimes someone will favorite a story to come back and read it, then un-favorite it after they read it, but still it does put a frown on my face when I see that little broken heart!