Horribly written?

robertreams

Literotica Guru
Okay here goes. There is a story of mine, posted here in 2009
http://www.literotica.com/s/best-friends-47

After all these years I received today an anonymouse comment: "I should be ashamed to say I am a retired English teacher. If this "Terribly written" story was any example, it is "no wonder our kids today can't read and write."

I went back and looked and yeah, maybe too many commas and some bad punctuation around quotes. (I had no idea in 2009 how serious a thing writing for Literotica was. Now I try to use an editor every time, but some things can still slip by.

Here's my question. Yep, some errors. But horrible writing? Oh well, I'll toss it out there and ask what you all think.

I haven't read it, but how did they know you had been an English teacher? Sounds like someone from the forum just razzing you.

I read enough of the story to see that while it could use a bit of proofreading, it wasn't horribly written. It might not get an A+ grade, but for a one page stroke story, it's good enough.

Edit to add:

I just checked out one of your more recent stories, "The Urinal", and I must say your prose has improved considerably over the years.

Last edited:
Okay here goes. There is a story of mine, posted here in 2009
http://www.literotica.com/s/best-friends-47

After all these years I received today an anonymouse comment: "I should be ashamed to say I am a retired English teacher. If this "Terribly written" story was any example, it is "no wonder our kids today can't read and write."

I went back and looked and yeah, maybe too many commas and some bad punctuation around quotes. (I had no idea in 2009 how serious a thing writing for Literotica was. Now I try to use an editor every time, but some things can still slip by.

Here's my question. Yep, some errors. But horrible writing? Oh well, I'll toss it out there and ask what you all think.