How to Avoid AI Rejection

SimonDoom

Kink Lord
There have been many threads lately by authors whose stories have been rejected by the Site for not passing the AI-generation screening. There seem to be a great deal of false positives.

I'm not an expert in AI, but I've also never had this problem with my stories, and I've read enough AI-generated stories and seen samples of text that apparently were rejected that I think I have some idea why these stories are being rejected, and I have some recommendations that I think may help avoid rejection. Keep in mind, I don't KNOW for sure that these ideas will avoid rejection. I welcome any additional suggestions people may have. The purpose of this thread is to offer positive suggestions. So here goes:

1. The number one suggestion is NOT to use true AI tools to write your story. Don't use things like ChatGPT. Just don't do it, period.
2. If you use tools like Grammarly and similar tools (I use them all the time), use them to identify problems, but don't accept all of their proposed solutions. Correct clear grammatical, spelling, and punctuation problems (but see below). But DON'T regularly follow their suggestions for rewording things or for restructuring your sentences.
3. In fact, make a point of REJECTING the tool's suggestions, and add a distinctive word of your own here and there.
4. Be conscious of whether your story reads like it's written as an essay. This, to me, is what a lot of AI-generated prose reads like. The sentences are too long, and the structure and flow are too monotonous. Too many commas.
5. Consciously mix up the length of your sentences and paragraphs. Mix short ones with long ones. I've noticed that with AI-generated text there's a tendency for sentences and paragraphs to feel the same.