Along that worn trail,
Returning ever slowly
Donning cloak and mail,
Returning to my life,
The problems that I weave,
Returning to that mask
Of sunny make-believe.​

Notes by the author:

Well I completed the first task of offering two comments on existing poetry so now it is time for me to bare my emotions with a contribution of my own for cirtical comment.

I wrote this a while ago, in a difficult time of my life....but I am much better now

Last edited:
What are you after, naamplao?

naamplao, what is your artistic goal, your artistic ambition?

According to some conventions, that of pop-songs or of hallmark poetry, your text is fine. If you'd like to apply poetic standards, than your text is quite poor. You need to state where you stand to make the conversation reasonably focused.

Regards,

Senna Jawa

As far as my "artistic" objectives go, I don't really have any. I am not a professional poet by any means, other than posting my work on the 'net I am not published and frankly don't have that intent.

My background is varied in science and sales but 10 years ago, by accident, I discovered that penning my thoughts to paper helped me resolve circular agruments in my troubled head. In the process of sharing my poems I have found many people who react in a positive way to my writing.

Those that criticize my writing, do so for the sing-song nature of a lot of my writing and lack of sophistication of its structure. On the other hand, people who are positive to it say that they like the vision my words paint and the vioce they hear as they read it.

I have the feeling that you are in the first camp :)

naamplao said:
As far as my "artistic" objectives go, I don't really have any. I am not a professional poet by any means, other than posting my work on the 'net I am not published and frankly don't have that intent.