Supporting Red...

RedHairedandFriendly

Too much red on Red?
Is it conceited to start your own support thread? I don’t think so. I am starting this one because I think I’ll need it. On October 24th of this year, I’m undergoing Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass Surgery. I have pre test and a pre op class on the 9th and 10th.

This isn’t a decision that I just woke up to one day and decided on. I spent over 5 years researching it and even now as the day closes in on me, I’m still learning things. I am ready though. I know it won’t be easy, but I know for me to live to see my kids marry and have kids, I am going to have to do something drastic.

I’ve done the diets, the working out, the structured programs since I was 18. I’m now 33 and a mother of three and my life is slowly coming to an end every day I maintain this weight I have placed on my heart.

There are so many things I want to experience, but where I am at now, it isn’t going to happen. This isn’t for vanity reasons. . . I want to walk up hills and take trails with the kids on vacation. I want to sit in a seat at the doctor’s office and not feel worried that this will be the first time I get stuck. I want to walk around and not feel the shooting pain in my back or the ache in my knees. I don’t want to worry that I embarrass my children. I don't want to gasp for breath any more unless its because I orgasmed. . .;) I don't want to fear that when my pulse races faster than normal, I'm not going to have a heartattack. . .I just want to live longer.

I know there is a woman inside me begging to be let loose and my health is in jeopardy, so this woman may never escape if I don't step away from the plate. I’m realistic. My troubles will not float away as the pounds drop. . . I know this. I know I’ll still suffer from the need to keep everyone happy and to make everything okay, but now. . . I have something to help me when I feel this way. . .my friends here at Lit. So this is why I have started my own support thread.