Understanding the ratings through descriptive statistic.

NancyVeeners

Nancy Friday's Fan
Hello there
I am new to LIterotica. I have published my first three stories and I am surprised by the number of ratings--33 in a few days for the most voted. That's great! Such a number of votes could already be a significant sample, and if we had access to the single (anonymized) ratings we could understand more about their reasons. For example, a four-star average rating could derive from a normal (Gaussian) distribution of four, five, three, and maybe just a few two and even less one star ratings. Or derive from a lot of five-stars ratings and just a few one-stars, signalling trolls. Or there could be other non-normal distributions that could be interpreted, giving the author suggestions.
What is needed is just the list of ratings.
I checked the FAQs etc., and I guess it would be an advanced feature, not available.
But in that case it could be a nice idea to the Literotica managers, to improve the power of an already excellent website & community.
Best
Nancy Jo

"Or there could be other non-normal distributions that could be interpreted, giving the author suggestions."

What sort of suggestions? Let's say your 4* average for story #1 comes from a normal distribution:
1* -1
2*
3* - 2
4* - 30
5* - 5

And the same average for story #2 comes from a 2 mode distribution:
1*
2* - 1
3* - 20
4* - 1
5* - 20

What are you going to do? Write more stories like #1? Like #2? Or just more stories that YOU like, that YOU want to tell and hope that eventually YOUR readers will find you?

Thank you Annie for your answer.