Responding to comments

Bad_Kitty3000

Virgin
I’m a new author on this site and have only published one story so far. I have several comments from readers and I wasn’t sure what the protocol was for responding or not. Unless I’m missing something it looks like you can only comment a general comment and not a direct reply to a certain comment? Is that correct? What do most authors do?

It's not Twitter or Facebook, that's for sure.

Basically yes, you can only really just reply in the comments section generally.

You can at least mention who you're responding to of course.

Odds are they won't read it though. They won't be notified and most readers never check back.

You could try clicking their profile and sending them a direct message if responding is that important to you.

Oh ok, thank you this is very helpful. I just wasn’t sure if it was rude to not comment back. But good to know that it’s not really expected.

Yeah, again, it's not like most social media, where it's designed for a conversation between people.

If you're lucky enough for a reader to have left a comment, be happy. Even comments are very rare for most.

I'd say reserve your efforts for readers who also Follow you. You can always reach out through their profiles if it's important to you.

But generally, no; most readers just comment and move on and responses from authors aren't really expected.

I’m a new author on this site and have only published one story so far. I have several comments from readers and I wasn’t sure what the protocol was for responding or not. Unless I’m missing something it looks like you can only comment a general comment and not a direct reply to a certain comment? Is that correct? What do most authors do?
I try to reply to all comments. I figure if they took the effort to write something. I reply to criticism as well, so long as it not ad hominem.