Any Port in a Storm

Okay… you asked for it 😊 Insert usual disclaimers here that this is not personal, it’s about making the story better, I’m not a professional editor and so on. These are just a few hasty observations from a fellow amateur writer’s point of view:

It’s a fun concept but starts slow and with one big ol’ wall-of-text paragraph establishing character appearance, setting, profession, time of year, even the weather. Not exactly an info dump, but close. Try to spread these details across more paragraphs. No need to bludgeon readers with so much all at once. Short paragraphs work best for online reading, especially opening ones.

The opening also has me asking “why should I care?” Try to open with something that grabs readers right from the start – like some action or a compelling situation. Give them a reason to read further. Start the story as close to the action as possible… like where Murry is learning from Hicks about the missing women.

The opening paragraph also has a physical description of a character, partially done using the “looking at themselves in the mirror” cliché. Best to avoid that… it’s boring and overdone. If the character’s appearance is important, try putting them in a real life situation where others can casually comment on their hair, eyes, etc. But most often, leaving physical appearance up to the reader’s imagination is best.

Second paragraph, in addition to being a little long as well, has disjointed sentences/grammar/formatting issues that make it tricky to read. Example: “Her panties were red and covered in sequins, but no one got to see them. However, much she wished it was the case.” Works better as “Her panties were red and covered in sequins, but no one got to see them—however much she wished it was the case.” There are many missing commas, run-on sentences, dialog formatting issues and similar throughout the story. It could use a run through a grammar checker, but I’ll concentrate on the story and flow.