Feedback needed for tone. Sexy or scary?

NoCorrelation

Experienced
I sent one of my friends/beta readers the first draft of a story introduction to get her opinion on the premise. I was surprised as hell to be told "as a woman, that's not sexy, it's terrifying."

Can I get initial feedback from you lot - especially any female readers?

Ta.

(It really is a first pass write, so don't expect it to be great literature. :) )

Have you ever been in the back of a police car? This is my first time, and it’s nothing like I expected. I guess I’ve seen too many American cop shows, but I was expecting wipe down vinyl everywhere and a heavy duty cage between the prisoner bit and the police bit.

So, it turns out that British cop cars aren’t anything like that. The seats are normal seats and there’s no cage. I don’t feel like I’ve been arrested for some terrible crime - I feel like my dad has just picked me up from a night of underage drinking. I could probably reach between the front seats and turn the radio up like I used to when dad was telling me how inappropriately dressed I was.

No matter what my dad thought of the skirts I wore back then, I never had my bare bum prickled by the horrible velour fabric he seemed to love.

I should probably explain. I’ve not been arrested for a horrible crime. I’ve been picked up by two very nice policemen who saw me sprinting naked across the road at three in the morning and decided it would be a good idea to find out what was going on, you know?

So, I’m sat in the back of a police BMW wearing nothing but a hi-vis jacket and an incredibly itchy blanket. The blanket is prickling my bum as bad as any velour and making my pussy itch. Well, it’s making my pussy itch more, if you know what I mean?

[Excerpt edited ~ Exceeds prescribed forum limit]

Last edited by a moderator:
Damnit - I didn't realise there was a length limit. Sorry mods.

Is there anywhere else I can stick to get feedback?