Interpreting # of Views

jason121872

Virgin
Hi, I'm a fairly new author. I've posted a couple stories here. I am wondering about how to interpret the stats.

Suppose I have 7K views but 100 votes. How many viewers probably read the story to at least half-way?

I understand it gets opened to see what it is. Everyone's taste and mood is different. If just 10% of the viewers give my story and honest shot at entertaining them, that'd be awesome! That'd be 700 readers.

But only 100 voted! Do 1 in 10 readers vote?

What do you guys think. I'd appreciate any comments. You can message me too if the comment is off topic.

The average is typically around 1-2% votes to views, once the initial honeymoon period settles down. That also varies by category. Most people don't vote, even fewer favorite a story, and even fewer will comment.

There's no way to know how many people finished the story ( or themselves ) beyond those who leave a vote or comment. Odds are the number is larger than the interaction would indicate, but that's about the best you can do.

You should also figure in about 20% of the total views are pure bots and spiders. It's a free to read site, after all. Could be even higher, but that was the best calculation I've been able to come up with when comparing the results to the same stories on a members-only site.

My most recent stat track, if you want to look at a wide variety of categories over the years.

http://www.darkniciad.com/hotlink_pics/all_3_names_12_18.htm

Last edited:
Suppose I have 7K views but 100 votes. How many viewers probably read the story to at least half-way?

When I used to read stories more often, it was possible for me to come back to a 10 page story once a day for ten days straight, and if I found a story with a hot-sizzling-stroke scene, I could visit that story quite often :eek: but then I found :heart: ;) and I wouldn't read stories, lost it, found it, lost it, found it, lost, etc.