A question for my fellow perveyers of filth.

Saxon_Hart

WWJD4AKlondike Bar?
I have a simple question for my fellow authors. Do you ever get turned on by what you are writing? As for myself, I am usually working ahead of what I am writing and rarely do. I did however when I wrote the first portion of my new one due to be published soon. I was curious whether anyone else ever get worked up by their own work.

If I don’t, I consider it poorly written and start over. I have the characters in my head going at it and have no choice but get aroused. I simply write down what they’re doing as they interact with each other. If they’re poorly conceived or their personalities are not to my taste, I toss them in the wastebasket.

The outline system doesn’t work for me. I have to simply let the character do whatever the hell he/she wants to do. Sometimes even to my surprise. (Maybe I’m strange. I don’t know.)

Absolutely.

I'm a method writer, so I don't know in advance exactly what is going to transpire between the characters. I have some inkling where the story will go and roughly how it might end. I know this sounds absurd, but sometimes the characters surprise me. (Or more accurately, what I write while in character catches me off-guard.)

And as Pilot succinctly put it...Why else would I write?

First time around and on the fly, hell yes. There's a seen in SWB that had me so wound up I had to stop halfway through and go hunt down the wife. Normally stopping in "mid-sex" is not a good idea, but this scene had got me to the point that I picked right back up where I left off.

However, after the third or fourth run through it loses its shine. :rolleyes:

It becomes a problem.

I work very well when I am aroused. As soon as it becomes too much and I 'take the edge off' I lose my spark. I usually stop writing.

It becomes a problem.

I work very well when I am aroused. As soon as it becomes too much and I 'take the edge off' I lose my spark. I usually stop writing.