how to extend my wifes interest in anal sex

I have always wanted to play with my wife's ass. She has never seemed interested until last night, we went out and both drank a bit. On returning home we ended up with me doing her doggy style, which was very enjoyable, maybe it was the alcohol but I started playing with her ass. I massaged her ass opening with my thumb, she was loving it so I gentle pushed my thumb inside her and slowly moved it around as I slowly fucked her. It was a great fuck, she was wrapped and said how hot it was and I told her I have wanted to play with her ass for ages.

question? what is my next step, keep the anal play to my fingers especially while having sex?
introducing a nice slim vibrator to use on her ass while having sex?

any suggestions?

Any good sex positive toy stores like Good Vibrations in your area? Go together. They can recommend something.

A SMALL butt plug and a lot of lube could be a good starter kit. It may take a whole month of gradual escalation to get her to, ahem, open up, so take it very very slowly.

Start by a bit of oral with you behind her and she's on all fours, face on the mattress, and you just rim her and taste her. DO NOT go between her anus and vagina though. That can cause, uh... baterial problems. Obviously you'll have to distract her with your hands in the meanwhile.

Next time, add lube, gently probing by tongue.

Next time, if receptive, a very neatly properly trimmed finger, lots of lube, just pressing outside, no insertion.

Next time, escalate, gentle pressure, get in a knuckle.

Next time, escalate, a little deeper, a little back and forth

Next time, the tiny butt plug, and lube

etc. etc. etc.

Move it slowly, keep f***ing her all the other ways.

thanks Kaycee, good advice. slow and steady wins the race it appears. was thinking of getting a thin vibrator to play with down the track if we keep progressing.