Stupid Mental Blocks that Get in Your Way

BuckyDuckman

Literotica Guru
My mom, a voracious reader, once told me, "I hate flashbacks. I don't understand why an author can't just tell the story from beginning to end without flashing back."

As an author, I understand the value of a well executed flashback. And no, I never asked what she had read prior to making that statement.

Still, since that flip comment, I often cringe when writing a flashback and think, "Do I need to do this?"

Bonus BS: In college, I had literature professor claim good literature can only come from the very poor or the very rich. In her world view, the middle class writer was too comfortable to write about pain and too busy to waste time writing.

What gets in the way of your creative process?

The middle class is hag ridden by angst and guilt and anything controversial, so they get in the most trouble. White trash and debutantes cant care less if you see them in a bed filled with niggers or Mexicans. Its the teacher or nurse or MD who wants to cut her wrists if anyone finds out.

Scarlett and Connie cant care less who knows.

I'm not a fan of flashbacks, a tad too cinematic for me, but really like well constructed prologues - even epilogues at times.

What gets in the way of my creative process? Time!

With a couple of weeks unable to travel, I've enjoyed surfing the boards, finishing a Valentine story and nearly an Earth Day piece.

Life. When I finally have the log jam break and the words are spilling out, I write like a fiend. But as I peter along my mind keeps saying, "Hey - what about the laundry? Hey, wouldn't you rather play with your children instead of writing? Hey, take your wife out for a ride? Hey, maybe this story isn't so good and you should stop."