First Time Story Looking for Honest Feedback

Bethesda

Virgin
Hi everyone,

Just discovered this site last week and love it so much. I've written short stories before but never anything like this. Finding this site has been a breath of fresh air for me! I just posted my first story. It's my first attempt at the genre, so any criticism, suggestions, or motivations you might have are welcome. The story is about a thirty-year-old man who is having a difficult time in life and wishes he were a different person. He makes a wish and wakes up the next day as an 18-year-old girl.

Author: Bethesda
Title: Know Thyself Ch1
Genre: Sci-fi/Fantasy

https://www.literotica.com/s/know-thyself-ch-01

Thanks everyone!
Bethesda

I think your writing is strong, and there's good detail here. I also think there's a lot here that doesn't advance the story, and it doesn't quite get to the good part. Figure out what the most exciting part of this story is going to be, and try writing that first, so you can decide whether or not the other pieces really help it.
Could this story start in the waking-up scene and talk about the birthday thing in a shorter flashback?
Good luck with it!

Could this story start in the waking-up scene and talk about the birthday thing in a shorter flashback?
Good luck with it!

I agree with this 100%. One of the things I try to do when reviewing my work is go through it and ask myself "does this REALLY need to be here? Does anybody care?" and then trim away anything that isn't pulling its weight.

As things stand, you could snip out the first four paragraphs without hurting the story at all. The story tells us Ben's age five times; once would be enough. If the background to Ben's ex-job is going to be important to later chapters you can give it later on. But the opening paragraphs are where readers ask "is this story relevant to my interests?" and decide whether they're going to read any further. That's a good place to let them taste what you have to offer.