Serendipity? Happenstance? Coincidence? - a study in destiny

soulchump

Really Experienced
This is a thread that has been designed as a closed thread for Pearl Necklace and Soulchump to explore possible random meetings in life . . . somewhere.

If the story moves you, and you feel utterly compelled to participate in some way, please PM either co-author to present your ideas. We remain open to playful experimentation, as part of the serendipity.

Friday cocktail

Look at me right now. At this moment, when you look at me, you may actually think I lead an enviable life.

Actually, a guy sitting alone in a bar never seems that enviable. Even if the bar is in Amsterdam, and it's 2pm on a Friday when other people are stuck at their jobs. That part's enviable, but any guy drinking alone before 4 in the afternoon . . . or any time really . . . he just seems like an alcoholic.

But let's say that you knew me, back home. Let's say you knew that I was a travel photographer on assignment, and that I was having a drink to celebrate the completion of a shoot (in this case, photos to show off the city's preparations for the 50th Anniversary of the Anne Frank museum). Let's say you thought I was a pretty smart guy for thinking ahead. For knowing the surge in tourism would mean the city had already started crankin' out festival ideas and building architectural highlights . . . all that. Stuff to coincide with Anne Frank. I photograph them first, I sell the story, I beat the other guys.

Let's say you knew all that. Then you might think it was an "international life of luxury" that led me to this bar and this drink.

Maybe you'd think it's cool that, in early 2010, you might actually see my photos in a bunch of the travel mags. Or not. You might not read that kind of thing.

AmsterdamDM_468x315.jpg