your favorite book?

rae121452

Literotica Guru
pbs is starting a new series where you vote for your favorite book. how does that even work? my favorite changes by decade, if not year, if not month.

the only consistent favorite has been "play it as it lays" by joan didion, because i lived through that time and it's the best representation of it.

are you able to say, "this is my favorite book"?

There are many books I particularly enjoyed, some I still do in rereading, and I expect to find many others that I like in the future. They don't fall into any particular genre or style. What I like best about books is the same as what I like about everything -- the diversity.

Probably Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast trilogy. I re-read it every five or six years, it keeps calling me back to another world.

John Banville puts his hooks in as a favourite writer, I reckon, but no single novel over any other. Possibly because he writes characters like I'm starting to (but way, way better written). Some of his sentences I'll read over and over, they're so good.

I have books that I re-read every two or three years - Graham Greene, James Joyce, Anthony Burgess, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth, Graham Swift, an Australian author named Robert Drewe (I've only read one of his books, but I must have read it at least ten times), E L Doctorow, etc, etc - but I'm not sure that I could pick one as 'the' favourite.

Animal Farm by George Orwell without a doubt.

This novel is so clever with its subtle satire, Orwell never once expressly stating that the pigs are doing anything wrong.

That's surprisingly easy. "Good Omens" by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.

Despite being almost thirty years old at this point, many of the jokes and references have hardly aged. It's funny and thought-provoking. I find myself coming back to it regularly.