A hell of a lot of stories.

HectorBidon

Should know better
634 new stories were published on this site last week: 56 on Monday (12/4), an average of 105 per day on Tuesday through Saturday, and 55 on Sunday (12/10). That's a hell of a lot of stories. How many of them did you read?

One of them was mine. I'm still a wide-eyed enough author that I like to see how my stories are doing, so this time I payed attention. My story was in the 12/10 batch, which first came up late Saturday evening (12/9, PST). By the next morning it had already gotten a score and even some comments. I was kind of curious to see how this compared to the level of attention that the other stories in the same batch were getting. Here's what I found:

This table shows the total number of views, votes, and comments across all the 12/10 stories for the first three days after publication. The data was obtained from the story pages themselves and the Tops lists. Since it takes a while for the numbers to be updated on the site, I compiled them in the mornings, so that the "day 1" data came from 12/11 (about 36 hours after publication) and so on.

[tr][td].[/td] [td]
___day 1
[/td] [td]
___day 2
[/td] [td]
___day 3
[/td][/tr] [tr][td]Views[/td] [td]
301123​
[/td] [td]
143082​
[/td] [td]
89902​
[/td][/tr] [tr][td]Votes[/td] [td]
3451​
[/td] [td]
2103​
[/td] [td]
919​
[/td][/tr] [tr][td]Comments[/td] [td]
180​
[/td] [td]
45​
[/td] [td]
23​
[/td] [/tr]

This table shows shows the average number of views, votes, and comments per story in each category. "Others" includes Celebrities (3 stories), Erotic Horror, Exhibitionism/Voyeur, Humor/Satire, Non-erotic, Nonhuman, and Novels/Novellas (1 story each).

[tr][td].[/td] [td].[/td] [td]
____​
[/td] [td]
Views
[/td] [td]____[/td] [td]
____​
[/td] [td]
Votes
[/td] [td]____[/td] [td]
Cmts
[/td][/tr] [tr][td]Category[/td] [td]Stories[/td] [td]
day 1
[/td] [td]
day 2
[/td] [td]
day 3
[/td] [td]
day 1
[/td] [td]
day 2
[/td] [td]
day 3
[/td] [td]
day 1